top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMaadhav Kothuri

The Game is Afoot... My First Two Weeks

The first two weeks of my ISM journey have been a whirlwind, to say the least. As I've acclimated to the fast-paced nature of the program, I've begun to realize that I have quite some work to do.

The first two weeks of my ISM journey have been a whirlwind, to say the least. As I've acclimated to the fast-paced nature of the program, I've begun to realize that I have quite some work to do.



Although my introduction speech went relatively smoothly, I've realized that I'm more nervous about public speaking than I remember. Since speaking in front of people is the essence of the final presentation (and much of this program as a whole), I can say for sure that this is an area that I can improve in. Throughout the next week, and the whole year, I will consciously seek out opportunities to put myself in front of other people and hone my communication skills in these situations. In this way, I hope to become more comfortable with the uncomfortable so that I can clearly and effectively express my ideas once I start venturing into more professional settings.





And now the big question. Where should I start with my topic research? I've been mulling this over ever since I applied to the program, but have done so in earnest through the past two weeks, which have forced me to thoughtfully consider my future steps in the program. Based on my interest in computer science and its physical applications, robotics seems like the logical place to start.


Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash


As a result, I will start my research in the field of artificial intelligence so that I can learn how the computer science and engineering elements mesh together. This initial study should help me pinpoint more specific areas of interest that I can devote more time to during future research.




My biggest takeaway from these two weeks, however, is just how big the world is. As I created my LinkedIn profile, I realized that there are so many people out there with diverse skillsets, interests, and experiences. I've been instilled with a sense of awe and excitement about the professional world that I am venturing into and the possibilities that await me.


Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Firsts

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page